Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Backhand - a desperate plea for help

Dear all,

I've been playing golf for about 15 years as a backhander. I'm right-handed, but I cannot hit a club RH if I had a gun to my head. Which, frankly, is what I feel golf is for me right now.

I can play ok weekend-tennis RH, I do fishing with my right arm, and I'll throw balls right handed. However, I used to play hockey left handed as a youngster.

My handicap is about 16-18. My best round is a 84. I can drive long if I have a good day. Yesterday, with a bit of help from the wind, I drove the ball about 290m on the green.

BUT: I have no idea what a release feels like. I am so tired of showing up at the course not having a clue what a proper release should feel like.

I'm battling a shank, which gives me much grief and tension.

So, dear backhanders, can someone please describe in detail their feeling in the lead arm and wrist? As a backhander? I think i've watched most of Shawn's videos, and I need this really detailed and slow. What feeling should I achieve in my lead arm and wrist? My LH is basically useless when it comes to golf.

Should I pull left right side at some point to make my right hand turn over and down?
    Last edited by BigBagaroo; 1 week ago. Reason: Typos

I am sure you will get some advise from the backhanders on this Forum. In the mean time let's get you a video to start helping you get that Release feel.

Comment

Hi and welcome.