Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Technology and the Modern Golfer

Hi Everyone,

I really loved the video below. You can observe how Shawn was adapting and learning from his secession with the new GCQuad Launch Monitor.

As a golf instructor I believe Shawn is aware that you cannot sit ideally by and let technology pass you up in today’s world. As a student of golf, you cannot afford to either, especially if you are trying to get better.

We are all different; therefore, a golf method like WIG will have to continue to adapt. As surely as I write this post the swing methods that adapt to the individual golfer will survive and the swing methods that expect the student to adapt to their method will not.

I think technology will help us all in the modern golf world. However, as usual there are differences of opinion on how to use this new technology. See the article below.

onhttp://www.golfdigest.com/story/for-

Welcome to this new world of golf. When you hear terminology like Alpha, Beta and Gamma Torques describing parts of a Through Swing you know we have entered a new age of golf.

Thanks,

Gary

Great information. Wondering about the comment that the best golfers in the world "get weight on the left heel when striking the ball" and then seeing a video of Jordan Speith rolling his front foot.

Comment

Hi Ron,
      Hi Everyone,

“The best players in the world get their weight into their left heel. If your weight is going into your left toe, that’s something to look at,” (Claude Harmon III)

I am not sure what Mr. Harmon was referring to, but I have heard some instructors say when you set up in your golf stance you do not want to feel the weight going into your toes. Depending on your individual setup you want to feel the weight on the balls of your feet, or the arches of your feet or on the heels of your feet or a combination there of.